top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureema18b

BLOG POST #8: BBG CHAPTER 15- ASSEMBLING A MULTI-GENRE PROJECT

Updated: Jul 31, 2018


In chapter 15 of Bedford Book of Genres, the steps and possibilities of assembling a multigenre project are highlighted. According to the Bedford Book of Genres, a multigenre project consists of a collection of three or more compositions of different genres that are all focused on one single topic. The purpose of a composing a multigenre project is to convey an idea to an audience in different ways, reaching out to different types of people and shedding light to an issue or point. What stood out to me in this chapter is the different types of genres that one may effectively use to convey a message. It is mentioned that an annotated timeline, presentation, story, photo essay, slide show, annotated map, and interview are all different ways in which we can incorporate a genre into our topic. This is especially helpful since this is what is expected out of us for our remediation project. It has given me some ideas on properly delivering my message that I am trying to convey to my audience about FSU’s CARE department. These genres stood out to me because they are unique and all of them could target different types of audiences whether it was through an artistic genre, a logistical genre, or a rhetorical genre. The type of genre that you decide on has to be directly correlated with your topic to ensure that your topic is correctly being executed.

Another thing that further expanded my outlook on this multigenre project is that to effectively reach out to your audience, rhetoric must be used. Using either ethos, logos, or pathos will appeal to your advantage by reaching your audience’s attention and further your purpose in your project.

Reflecting on the information given, I realize that it might work to my benefit to use an interview as one of my genres for my project because it allows for my message about becoming a CARE ambassador more personal and informative coming from a person with firsthand experience. This chapter pointed out many useful techniques that should be exemplified in the types of genres you use to emphasize the message in your topic for your project.

127 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page